Haese, Richard, 1944-,

Permanent revolution : Mike Brown and the Australian avant-garde 1953-1997 / Mike Brown and the Australian avant-garde 1953-1997 Richard Haese. - 297 pages : illustrations (some color), portraits (some color) ; 27 cm. - Second numbered series of the Miegunyah volumes ; no. 144 . - Miegunyah Press series. Second numbered series ; no. 144 .

Includes bibliographical references (pages 286-291) and index.

Machine generated contents note-- 1. Australian Modernism: An Incomplete Project (1953-63) -- 2. Across the Grain: From Chatswood to Annandale (1938-60) -- 3. Sailing to Byzantium: Annandale Imitation Realism (1960-62) -- 4. Flying Kites: Protest and Pop on the Sydney Art Scene (1963-67) -- 5. Descent into the Maelstrom: Mysticism, Abstraction and the Edge of Art (1966-68) -- 6. Change and Dissent: Anti-Modernism and Post-Object Art (1969-74) -- 7. Embracing Chaos: Politics and Democratic Art (1973-81) -- 8. Death of the Artist: Politics and Postmodernism (1981-88) -- 9. End Game: Pluralism and Populism (1989-97).

As the only Australian artist to have been successfully prosecuted for obscenity, Mike Brown is considered one of Australia's most controversial figures. This captivating book offers a comprehensive account of this outspoken artist's life and work. Brown's imitation realism was the first Australian art movement to incorporate collage, assemblage, and installation, as well as the first to respond in a profound way to Aboriginal art and to the tribal art of New Guinea and the Pacific region. This biography also serves as a portrait of the social and political upheaval that gripped Australia during the 1960s and 1970s. -- Publisher's blurb.

9780522860801 (hbk.)

015901888 Uk

Brown, Mike 1938-1997.
Brown, Mike, 1938-1997.
Brown, Mike 1938-1997.

Annandale Imitation Realists.

Avant-garde (Aesthetics)--History--Australia--20th century.
Painters--Australia--20th century.
Art, Australian--20th century.

N7400 / .H34 2011